1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Discussion in 'Digital Marketing' started by boomerbrian, Nov 20, 2009.

1. boomerbrian

boomerbrian LawnSite Member

I'm a newbie and as such have no cash to lay out for a website. I've designed my own using MS Producer. I would like to put up on the net, but (ya there's always a but) for free.
    Can anyone help me? (and if this is already on this forum -sorry).

Thanks, Boomer

Romans 8:28
  2. Blue2000

Blue2000 LawnSite Member

I believe Hosting providers like Godaddy.com offer free hosting if you allow them to display their ad banners at the top. You could always do a facebook page, or a blog at blogger.com.

My site
  3. boomerbrian

boomerbrian LawnSite Member

That's a good idea about FB. Thanks!
  4. roushjh

roushjh LawnSite Member
    from KS

I agree Blog is the way to go for your situation.
  5. Precedence

Precedence LawnSite Member

Bluehost offers hosting at a good price, plus a lot of extras. It's only $6.95/month.
  6. commercialnetinc

commercialnetinc LawnSite Member

Take this the right way...

It's better to NOT have a Website than to have a crappy one that displays third-party ads. Invest what money you have at this point on gas/petrol so that you can drive around neighborhoods and knock on doors for the purpose of meeting locals and handing-out your business cards. Save $500 from your gross income towards hosting and Website services (that's a good start), but don't put a half-baked site online that throws more ads at people.

The minute someone sees one of those annoying insurance Flash ads with the dancing silhouettes, they'll click-away from your site. Worse, you'll be branded and judged in a negative light by prospective clients. Your competition will love that, though, eh?

7. Blue2000

Blue2000 LawnSite Member