Herbicide question?

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by lasher66, Jan 29, 2006.

1. lasher66

lasher66 LawnSite Senior Member

As I posted before, I am new to pesticides and fertilizers. I was wondering what you guys did to learn all this stuff about the million different herbicides and what each one does? Is there a website for this, that can briefly explain what each herbicide does? I am only going into the turf applications, so I dont need to know about all of them. I guess before I try to go out there and act like I know what I am doing, I want to learn as much as possible. I went to Lesco's web site, but I didnt seem to find anything about what each application of herbicide does. Thanks for any help.

Jason

2. Grassmechanic

Grassmechanic LawnSite Silver Member

4 years of college did it for me. Then, seminars every 6 months to update on new chemicals. I guess some of this info could be found on the web, but I like the hands on route where the results are right in front of your eyes.

3. LawnTamer

LawnTamer LawnSite Gold Member

There isn't really a good single source. Here in Utah we have annual trade shows sponsered by Lesco and other local suppliers. They fly in reps from PBI Gordon, Monsanto, Sandoz, BSF and others big Manufacturers. You will get a lot of info at these events but the reps are trying to sell their products and thus they will sometimes exagerate the effectiveness of their product. There is a lot to be learned from talking w/ other LCOs and some trial and error. Here are some basics that apply at least for our area.

Pre-emergents:
    Barricade- works well, lasts up to 8 months if applied heavily but cost a lot, stains a little.
    Dimension- Works well up to 4 mo, medium cost, doesn't stain
    Pendimethilum, (lesco Pre em, Pendulum)- Works well up to 4 mo, cheap, but stains everything (was actually developed as a Dye and was accidentaly discovered as a pre emergent

Post Emergent Herbicides