1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Hey Experienced Guys Is Their Any Places You Wouldnt Mow?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by bigw, Jan 13, 2008.

1. bigw

bigw LawnSite Bronze Member

I was just curious if their are any places that you just wouldnt do lawn care for? like banks,motels,bars,etc...any places i should just avoid altogether?
  2. ed2hess

ed2hess LawnSite Fanatic

Gas stations and government housing units.
  3. enviouslawns

enviouslawns LawnSite Member

Why would you avoid gas stations? im jw beacuse im new to this industry also...
  4. bigw

I also plow snow so i have heard about avoiding gas stations because of insurance reasons due to the gas pumps but "mowing their grass" why would that be a problem? I dont think youd be near any pumps for mowing?
  5. LawnTamer

LawnTamer LawnSite Gold Member

I know a couple guys that do real well with gas stations around here.

I would avoid housing projects. I used to do all the local federal buildings here. They pay OK, but you have to jump through so many hoops and they always paid late. I wouldn't do that again.

One other thing I'd avoid, anyplace where you or your equipment would be in danger. It's just not worth it. Overgrown grass with junk and rocks in it:nono:
    Steep hills with drop-off or water at the bottom:nono:

I saw a guy sink a $10k Exmark last yr trying to mow a ditch bank.:dizzy:

The profit from a whole season won't cover the damage to his machine, and he was lucky to get off the machine.
  6. bigw

well thats the last thing i want to happen to my new Exmark. Hey lawn tamer what about places like a bar or clubs,do you think they would be a problem with insurance issues because of the drinking or would they be ok to do?
  7. carcrz

carcrz LawnSite Silver Member