Hi, I'm new to the forum

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by FERRISBUEHLER, Apr 30, 2007.

1. FERRISBUEHLER

FERRISBUEHLER LawnSite Member

Hi, I'm John, and with the purchase last week of a Ferris IS 5100Z, 72" cut, I realize I'm in the perfect position for some part/fulltime landscaping work. Ok, you ask why partime? Well, I'm a HS teacher with a lot of time on my hands in the summer, I live in the Shenandoah Valley in central VA, where that "Mountain Dew" creates, thick, heavy, and nearly Weed free lawns, and a long growing season, it's not uncommon to see green grass in December, and cutting beginning as early as March 1st.
    Basically, I bought the Ferris to take care of my property, I have twelve grass filled acres. Prior to the Ferris, I used a Kubota 2350 Diesel 4X4 tractor with a 60" PTO driven finish mower. It took me 12 butt pounding, spine crushing hours to cut my property! OH-MY-GOD the Ferris is so Comfortable!

Here's why I was considering doing some landscaping, I currently own a '97 Ford F-250 4X4 with a flush mount fifth wheel and class 3 hitch, I have a 3000lb cap lowboy deck trailer with a 7.5' X 10.5' deck and expanded metal ramp, the above named Kubota with loader, a '90 GT14D (diesel) Ford hydrostatic garden tractor, 48" cut, Echo straight shaft trimmer, and a Giant 11hp Blower. I'm going to purchase a 36-50 gallon diesel drop in tank for my pickup bed, I need it anyway. I can pick up off road non taxed diesel for $2.25. Oh, and I'm a full mechanic and welder, equipment repairs and maintenance not a problem. I've rebuilt two hydrostatic drives on my brother-in-law's Bobcats in CT. He's at a loss since I moved to VA, I've rebuilt his truck front end, re-wired his mowers. I love working on equipment, I'm just a machine guy! Any thoughts on getting started, l'm looking for a small client base, maybe 10-20 customers to start.

John

2. bohiaa

bohiaa LawnSite Fanatic