high lift-gator-mulch-double-sharpening

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by dockelly, Mar 21, 2007.

1. dockelly

dockelly LawnSite Member

I have seen several tips regarding keeping blades sharp and quality results, but as a newbie I am interested in hearing more on blade philosophy. Ie: high lift vs gators, blade thickness and ease of sharpening, modified sharpening, double blade configuation etc. Eric ELM has some great pics of these blades on his site but no real pro's and con's, do's and don'ts on the various set ups. I think it would play a big roll in acheving quality result and the effect it may have on the mower (wear, safty etc.). Any thoughts?

2. Captains Landscape

Captains Landscape LawnSite Senior Member

1. Gator blades are great if you mulch the clippings. They will help make a mower a more dedicated mulcher.
    2. Hi-lift blades are strictly for bagging. The design is to keep the clippings flowing faster through the deck and deposit into the bag. For example if you look at some gator blade configurations you will notice a smaller blade on the spindle. These do the opposite of Hi-lift. They keep the clippings in the deck longer in order to chop them up finer, the smaller blade will actually send the clippings back out to the larger blades again for a second reduction.
    3. TIP: If you use a Toro push mower for bagging only, you can remove three black baffles under the deck, and it will bag better. These baffles are only there to improve mulching.
    4. Wait until your blades really need to be sharpened to do so. Despite what you think a more balanced blade will cut better than a razor sharp blade. When you buy you blades new they don’t have a razor edge on them. The more balanced, the faster and more proficient of a cut.

3. kalyeah

kalyeah LawnSite Member

When you buy you blades new they're not usually balanced either.

4. dockelly

dockelly LawnSite Member