Hit a metal pipe at a new customer !!

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Big Clipper, May 20, 2006.

1. Big Clipper

Big Clipper LawnSite Member

I just got a new customer. The grass was about 18" tall and my mower found a nice copper pipe sticking out of the ground. Just wonder should I say something to the owner and ask him for some extra money for the job? It wreck one of my blades. Should I be charging more for those first mowings were the owner has not yet cut the grass once, the grass was at about 18". I am not sure how to handle this so I would welcome some CLEAN feedback !! I am just starting out about one month ago .
    Serving till HIS SOON return Thanks Big Clipper
  2. BSDeality

BSDeality LawnSite Silver Member

I would mention it to him casually, don't ask for a replacement blade but let him know you hit something and you weren't too pleased about it.

As for those monster first cuts, I charge double if i can do it while riding around on the Z or triple if i have to get off my duff and rake up clippings. Consider it lesson learned.
  3. work_it

work_it LawnSite Senior Member

Did you have him sign a contract? If "yes", does you contract state that there will be additional charges for anything left in the yard which damages your equipment or injures another person? If "no", guess you'll just have to suck it up and call the lesson learned your bonus.

You might want to start thinking about using contracts or modifying your existing ones.
  4. All_Clear

All_Clear LawnSite Senior Member

A cut like that you always charge more "to get it back in shape" Then once you've taken all the risk out charge the normal weekly price.

As for the pipe... Depends on what you think.... will the customer shell out to replace your blade? Did the customer just move to the house? Lived there and just let the yard go... Any chance he knew or didn't know the pipe was there... Knowing some of this type info would help...