Hmmmm How to charge??

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Willofalltrades, Jun 12, 2006.

1. Willofalltrades

Willofalltrades LawnSite Bronze Member

So a company that I would like to eventually compete with offered to subcontract 10 yards out to me today. I am a new company and I am hirting for cash. My problem... He wants me to do it under his name. UUUUMMM I need to spread MY name lol. what would you do? Is there any conditions I should put on the deal. What forms would you sign (ex: noncompete contract)? Also he wants to know what I charge.. Should I go by the hour since he is basically employing my company or price the yards like I price them for myself? I am new to this and would like a little help from prople who have done this before. Thanks, -Will
  2. Liquidfast

Liquidfast LawnSite Senior Member
    from Ontario

Well little fella, if you are h"i"rting for cash, you gotta take the jobs or go hungry. To me, its a either take the jobs under his terms and his way or you dont and you starve for a bit longer. I started by taking some of the lawns other companies didnt want or couldnt manage to keep up. Totally different story now.
  3. Willofalltrades

ok now how should I estimate this?
  4. grass-scapes

grass-scapes LawnSite Bronze Member

and you are wondering why you are hurting for cash? Tell him what you will take to do the yards. If he doesn't find it acceptable, ask him what is. If you can do it for that, then do it. IF not, time to find another line of work......I hear McDonalds is hiring.
  5. Petr51488

Petr51488 LawnSite Silver Member
    from NJ

Go work for him and learn the ropes.. You must be doing something wrong..
  6. Willofalltrades

hey guys thanks, that solves all my problems!