Homeowner Zero Turn vs riding mower

Discussion in 'Homeowner Assistance Forum' started by camster39, Sep 29, 2005.

1. camster39

camster39 LawnSite Member

My total property is about an acre with estimated lawn coverage of 20,000 sq ft. Several trees and a few obstacles but nothing outrageous. I'm brand new to lawn maintenance and have been starting off slowly (landscaper did everything 2 years ago, last year I took over fertilizer & grass repair/renovation & next year I'd like to take over everything). I've got a blower and an edger/trimmer and now I'm in the market for a mower.

I didn't even know what a zero turn machine meant until a few days ago so please forgive my ignorance. Anyway - where should I be focusing my attention? Is a zero turn homeowner model worth looking at? I'm starting to read that any zero turn under $4k is not even worth considering. I really want to keep it around $2k if possibile (maybe 2,500 max). My main objectives are

1 - An even cut
    2 - Easy to maneuver (around trees and mulch beds)
    3 - Reliability

I don't think I'll ever be bagging my grass -- side discharge or mulching will work fine.

Consumer Reports loves the John Deere 100 series riding mowers but I've seen some posts knocking the Deere. Does Deere make a zero turn - is it worth looking at? Ariens & Toro seem to have zero turns for under $3k -- how are those? Should I just forget the zero turn and focus on the residential lawn tractors --- as you can tell I'm confused.

Any feedback/advice would be appreciated.

2. BladeRunner1967

BladeRunner1967 LawnSite Member

Go for the tractor dude. Toro's homeowner is a piece of junk and with a tractor you can use alot more attachments. Good luck.
  3. QualityLawnCare4u

QualityLawnCare4u LawnSite Gold Member