Hond 24 or Kaw 23 ???

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Dan1944, Sep 2, 2002.

1. Dan1944

Dan1944 LawnSite Member

I will be getting my first ZTR in about a month and have narrowed it down to a Hustler mini Z, 52" cut. I have a choice of a 23 twin A/C Kaw or a 24 twin a/c Honda. Honda list's for 100.00 more. I do not know to much about the Honda twin's. I need some opinions (pro and con's) My dealer handles both.

Thanks

Dan the lawn care man

2. 65hoss

65hoss LawnSite Fanatic

I have the 23 kawi, and its extremely powerful. Get it. Stay away from the bigger honda motors. Honda makes the best small motors but its hard to get support and parts for the larger ones. Oh, I'm not saying this from lack of experience with honda.

3. SLS

SLS LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Mars

I don't know about the Honda twin cylinder engines as I have no experience with them.

I do own a Kawasaki 23 hp however. It is on a Lazer Z that has just ticked over 800 hours...with absolutely NO problems. It has plenty of power for my applications too (residentials that go no longer than 10 days between cuts). It seems to be a very good engine. :)

4. Bill Davis

Bill Davis LawnSite Senior Member

we had bad a bad experience with a bigger Honda motor at the farm so maybe 65 hoss is right, I have the 23 Kaw. on my Lazer and it is a beast, lots of power and its tough to bog it down. The 23 should be plenty of power for the 52 inch deck.

5. dlandscaping

dlandscaping LawnSite Senior Member
    from mass

Go with kawi. Honda has great small engines under 10hp but over that i would stay away. Why don't you think other mower mfgs use honda engines in the 20hp range. Parts for those engines are $$. Good luck with your new machine.

6. syncom2

syncom2 LawnSite Member
    from Ohio