Honda FG 110 Tiller

Discussion in 'Mechanic and Repair' started by john_incircuit, Dec 21, 2005.

1. john_incircuit

john_incircuit LawnSite Senior Member
    from NC

I have a Honda FG 110 tiller and try to find the correct grease for the gearbox. The manual states that:" Replacement grease should be a high quality petroleum based NLGI #2 general purpose grease usually available in disposable tubes at most hardware or automotive parts stores.”

Problem is, I can find pure petroleum based grease. There is a huge selection of grease in the store and it seems that most are synthetic or on a lithium / moly base. I’m not an expert with the greases, but I recall that I should not mix different greases.

Just called the Honda “Customer Relations” hot line, and must have talked to the least friendly person that Honda employees. She basically said that the handbook states that this grease is available in the local hardware stores, and that it is not Hondas problem if it is not available…

Dealer doesn’t have this petroleum based grease either, only grease with lithium.

After all the gearbox issues I heard about on the older Honda mini tiller, I want to make sure that I use the correct grease. But, where do I find it?

Thanks,
    John

2. Restrorob

Restrorob LawnSite Fanatic

Hey John, I called this place; http://www.planopower.com/contact.html Talked to a Guy about the grease and he looked in the service manual and said ANY general purpose grease would be just fine. He also said thats what they put in them in their shop. I also asked about gearbox problems with these little tillers and he said they have seen no problems with the FG110 but had quite a few with the FG100 because it is a smaller lighter duty built gearbox.
    We are a Honda dealer where I work but never handled the tiller line but I will look at the parts list tomorrow and see if it list a part # for the OEM grease.

Thats about the best I can do on this one.
    Take care

3. TURF DOCTOR