1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Honda HHT31SLTA review

Discussion in 'Mechanic and Repair' started by bavarskas, Apr 18, 2005.

1. bavarskas

bavarskas LawnSite Member

I recently purchased a Honda HHT31SLTA trimmer. This trimmer has the "D" handle and solid shaft.

First please let me clarify that I am not a professional, but a homeowner who has a lot of property to maintain. I use a trimmer for 6-8 hours/week. Like professionals I want the trimmer to start and work when I need it to. I have been using an ECHO SRM2100.

The new Honda started easily (like all new trimmers should). I was a very humid day so not choke was required. Starting cord much easier to pull than the ECHO.

The Honda shaft is 3-4" longer than the ECHO that I am use to using so it felt awkward at first. As a result I was not cutting evenly because the spool was not parallel to the ground. Adjusting the handle fixed that. I did not notice the extra weight.

The engine does not rev as quickly as a two stroke (surprise, surprise) but it certainly did have more torque.
    (Note: I questioned what good torque would be on a string trimmer when I was investigating new trimmers because the string would just flex. I always thought RPM was the answer to high performance). But the Honda cut through 1/2"-5/8" blackberry vines in a fraction of the time when compared to my old ECHO. I don't know how much can be contributed "torque" or just the fact that the Honda was a new machine.

No matter what angle I held the trimmer it never bogged or quit.

The engine is quiet. Nice.

The "bump" line feed quit working do to the string being poorly wound on the spool from the factory. In 10 minutes I had it fixed and continued working.

The best feature that I like is no more mixing oil and gasoline.