Hooked a big one

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by Lance587, Mar 24, 2005.

1. Lance587

Lance587 LawnSite Member

I finally got a big job and I'm hoping this will sort of jump start my business for this season. However, I'm 17 years old. I need to know about augers. I need approximately 40 large tree holes dug and I figure this is the fastest way. Would it be easier to go with an auger attachment that goes on a bobcat or should I just go with a high powered auger? Also, I have no experience with a bobcat so I figure that'd be a problem too.
    I am also stuck at finding the final price. All of my expenses add up to approximately $2,200. The customer has purchased $8,000 worth of plants and trees at $2,000. They know the nursery owner so he hooked 'em up at wholesale. However, they are almost bankrupt because they've spent so much of their money on upgrades for their new home. They've purchased approx. 40 trees and over 150 plants and shrubs(mostly 5-10 gallon). Any ideas on a scale for how much I should charge based on those specs.? They had a plan drawn up for them and the lady did an outstanding job with the plan. It's a 3 day project. If you have anymore questions about the job, respond and I'll answer them.

2. mexiking

mexiking LawnSite Senior Member
    from NJ

becareful what you dig

cables,pipes, etc

3. Lance587

Lance587 LawnSite Member

yea i forgot to include that on there too. when the homeowners puchased the land and put a house on it, they were smart enough to have all wires go through one central location and even enclosed the wires in a pipe.

4. mexiking

mexiking LawnSite Senior Member
    from NJ

you still got gas pipes and water pipes

5. Randy Scott

Randy Scott LawnSite Bronze Member

Isn't this your answer right here? What do you charge per hour? .

6. Lance587

Lance587 LawnSite Member