Hot Rod Zero Turns? Anyone Customizing?

Discussion in 'Turf Renovation' started by Eric D, Jun 8, 2007.

1. Eric D

Eric D LawnSite Senior Member

Can I increase the speed of my zero?

I understand that a lot of folks look for reliability and do what they have to in maintenance to keep their zeros working. I’m the type of person that sometimes, doesn’t know to leave well-enough alone. I have a Toro Z-Master with a 60" TURBO FORCE deck, and a 25Hp Kawasaki. It is rated at 10 mph. I can’t help but wonder if I were to change the pulley ratio for the pumps to up their rpm, could I increase speed to say something closer to 15 mph? I know that there are kits for the eXmarks to increase ground speed, but I have no idea what is included in this kit.

Anyone doing some “Tim Alan, the tool man” mods on their zeros?:weightlifter:

Eric D
  2. Stillwater

Stillwater LawnSite Platinum Member

hey tim sounds like fun
  3. zero

zero LawnSite Member

You hit the nail on the head Eric, its all about pulley diameter. By changing pulley diameter you increase or decrease the rpm of the pump thereby increasing or decreasing the pressure of the hydraulic fluid sent to the drives. Caution must be taken, max hydraulic line and case pressures shouldn't be exceeded (pump $ drive) or a violent release of high pressure fluid and or shrapnel could occur at groin and leg level.
  4. Midwest Lawn Services

Midwest Lawn Services LawnSite Member

By modifying the original purchase, does this effect your warranty at all?
  5. zero

zero LawnSite Member

Yes, I would think it would effect the warranty. If you change one part of a "system" it changes the operational parameters of the entire system. I would say it depends on your dealer, he may not want to honor any part of the warranty due to the excessive speed that the mower was not designed for. or he may think its cool
  6. Eric D