Hourly rate on chopping cedar trees

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by globalhog, Dec 4, 2003.

1. globalhog

globalhog LawnSite Member

A golf course owner wants 99.9% of the cedar trees on his course cut down to the ground and thrown into a pile. He will then have his crew use some to make a split rail fences and the rest will be sent thru a chipper for mulch. Their goal is to have this accomplished in the next 3 years. He wants me to come up with 3 two man crews with chainsaws and he asked me what I would charge him as an hourly rate working 3 days a week. I am a former teacher fired up about the green industry and have no idea what to charge. Please help.....Thanks.
  2. gene gls

gene gls LawnSite Gold Member

Are they White Cedar or Red Cedar? Red Cedar is hard as a rock and will ruin your chain very fast. Better take a close look before you quote any price.

3. mdvaden

mdvaden LawnSite Bronze Member

This certainly shows how important botanical names are.

In our area, red cedar are western red cedar - Thuja plicata. The wood is very soft, but long-lasting. The source for cedar roof, fence and deck.

Its interesting that a course would want so many cut down. But if it was a certain species, I could understand.

Riverside and Columbia Edgewater Country Clubs in Portland started a program to remove all of the Port Orford cedars because it was 96% certain that the trees would get disease and die.

Those were probably one of the worst trees ever planted in a horticultural band-wagon years before.

The wood is soft in those also.

And, when you say cedar, that could also mean true cedars to us - the genus Cedrus with deodar cedar, blue atlas cedar and cedar of lebanon.
  4. SWD

SWD LawnSite Senior Member

The trees global hog is referring to are juniperus spp of the eastern red cedar.