1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

how 2 handle this

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by bobcatnj, Aug 2, 2006.

1. bobcatnj

bobcatnj LawnSite Senior Member

i did an install in may. of all the shrubs we planted ,6 are dead. the customer and i never discussed any plant guarantee and it doesnt say anything in the constract about it. i've been doing this for 7 years and never had a dead shrub that i knew about. how do u handle this?
  2. Dirty Water

Dirty Water LawnSite Fanatic

Time to bust out the soil-moisture meter.

TURF DOCTOR LawnSite Silver Member

Simple replace them,you might try and split the cost with him.
  4. SodKing

SodKing LawnSite Bronze Member

I agree with dirty water...you have a reasonable expectation that the client will care for the plant properly...If he didn't water, his problem,,,
  5. bobcatnj

bobcatnj LawnSite Senior Member

i havent talked to the lady yet, but im sure if i ask did you water, im sure the answer will be yes. how can i tell if shes telling the truth?
  6. dKoester

dKoester LawnSite Gold Member

I try to keep in touch with past clients to see how things are going. I just don't want to drive by and see it go south. Most have us maintain their landscape with no problems.
  7. LawnDawg65

LawnDawg65 LawnSite Member

but I would replace them, that way there is no headache and I am still suprised where referrals come from. Better to have them happy than getting a bad reputation -- don't get me wrong their our times when we don't replace them, but with just 6 plants plant them and be done with it. Chris
  8. gammon landscaping

gammon landscaping LawnSite Senior Member