How am I doing? Any advice?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by BobbyKnight, May 6, 2005.

1. BobbyKnight

BobbyKnight LawnSite Member

OK, I want to know how I'm doing. I'm relatively new at this, but I'm learning. I don't mow full-time, but I would like to take on more accounts. Last year I had 7, and this year I have 12. Here are the facts:
    1. Lawn #1 takes 40 min. to mow and trim ($15)...it's my wifes grandmother.
    2. Lawn #2 takes 15 min. no trimming ($15). It's an open lot.
    3. Lawn #3 takes 30 min. to mow and trim ($15)...my mom's.
    4. Lawns 4-6 takes approx. 60-75 min. to mow and trim. ($45) Two are family members and one isn't.
    5. Lawn #7 takes 50-55 min. to mow and trim ($35).
    6. Lawns 8-9 are a combo deal. Small business and his house. Between my mow and drive time between his house and business, it takes me approx. 2 hours 15 minutes ($60).
    7. Lawn 10 takes approx. one hour, a lot of trimming ($40)
    8. Lawn 11 takes 45 min. to mow and trim ($60), but I split this with a friend who helps.

So, I have about 7.5 hours in these lawns just mowing. Drive time is probably 30 to 40 minutes. By days end 8 to 8.5 hours. Gas, I'm kind of guessing here, but based from what I have done so far this year, I could probably do these yards twice on a full tank possibly more. But, I usually mow my own every 5 or 6 days (4 acres).

Equipment: I almost have my mower paid for (JD 737 w/ 54 in. 23 Kaw.). Should be paid for by the end of the summer. Truck too is almost paid for ('99 F150 w/ 67,000 miles), so this should last me quite some time hopefully. Trimmer, blower, etc. all paid for obviously.

I have insurance on my mower. I turned in my income from my mowing last year. Truth be told, I don't have insurance yet to cover myself incase my mower throws a rock or something else happens. I plan on getting this done though.