How Big is Big?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Smartgene, May 14, 2002.

1. Smartgene

Smartgene LawnSite Member

I'm Gene from Leyton's Lawn Cutting Company and I'm new to the business and have been reading these boards for a couple of weeks now. Obviously, from the name of the company (named after my 5 month old son), I'm into the maintenance side of things. I'm wondering, how large a company can be built primarily through maintenace? Trying to avoid getting to personal, but I'm wondering if there are any 500k per year guys participating on this board? If you have it like that, please don't be reluctant to tell us of your success.
    Gene from Mich.

2. TGCummings

TGCummings LawnSite Senior Member

Welcome to LawnSite, Gene! :D

I believe 500K in annual revenues is possible in the maintenance end of the business, but only if you're not working in it. What I mean is, at that level, you'll be managing a large number of maintenance crews (and consequently, the headaches thereof ;) ) and working on the business only. I can't imagine you'd have any time to do the work yourself at that level.

Of course, you'll have to determine whether your market can handle this volume of service.

As for the secret of success, I imagine anyone operating at that level would tell you the same thing: hard work, good systems, customer service, and integrity. Of course, each trait can be broken down and volumes can be written about each one.

Since you're just starting out, build on the basics of each principle. Learn everything you can about what you're doing. Learn about marketing, equipment, safety, etc. Build systems within your company to streamline it's effectiveness. Learn how to deal with customers comfortably. Give them the best service you can without comprising your systems (and integrity).