1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

How can I cut down on equipment maintainence costs?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Chivas Regal, Sep 6, 2007.

1. Chivas Regal

Chivas Regal LawnSite Member

I am in my second year of business (after having done this business for 5 years when I was younger). At this point, I have two lawn crews running, which is good. Unfortunately, my guys bang the hell of out the equipment and I'm constantly having to make repairs. I am not very mechanical myself, so this usually means paying a high shop rate at a local repair shop (fortunately, they are very good at turning equipment around quickly). I've managed to find a good an inexpensive mechanic to fix my old trucks, but haven't been able to do so for small engine repair and equipment maintainence. Any thoughts on this subject?
  2. Grits

Grits LawnSite Silver Member
    from Florida

Tell your guys to quit beating the hell out of the equipment.
  3. J&R Landscaping

J&R Landscaping LawnSite Fanatic

If something brakes due to all out abuse or stupidity, pull the guy or crew aside and have them help you get it fixed. You might be able to dock their pay for the prolems but you'll want to check your local laws first as they are different.
  4. Dano50

Dano50 LawnSite Bronze Member

You could switch to Fluid Film to extended maintenance schedules. It lasts a lot longer than all the competitive products.
  5. Chivas Regal