1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

How can someone cut 29.8 acres for $250.00 a week???

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Tim03, May 23, 2006.

1. Tim03

Tim03 LawnSite Member

Hello all

As you can tell by my question and my post count, I am very new to all of this. In fact I don't have any equipment, or have mowed anyones grass.

I have been reading here the past couple of weeks to learn from people who make a living out of the business.

My full time place of employment is basically like a Super Walmart, with a Gas Station. They have 29.8 acres of grass that is cut every week.

I have worked there many years and Brickman has a truck out there maybe once or twice a month cutting but lately its mostly the same white Ford truck pulling a white enclosed trailer.

Three guys operate out of the truck, all riding mowers, a Scag and two John Deeres I believe. I can't sit back during work and clock them but I think it takes them 4 to 5 hours to finish the job. They use blowers and trimmers, they leave the job usually looking pretty good but if there is trash in the lawn sometimes they mow through it and shredded paper and plastic bags are in the lawn.

Last week my boss told me they only get $250.00 a cut and even he commented that wasn't good money.

We have six other stores in the Indianapolis area, I am going to assume that Brickman has a contract with my store and at least the 6 others, most likely all of the stores in the state, if not the whole company, which would be around 175 stores in five states, plus a couple of huge DCs and the main office. But from what I have learned here, anyway you look at it this job doesn't seem profitable.