1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

How can their be any money in this?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Liendeni, Apr 26, 2008.

1. Liendeni

Liendeni LawnSite Member

I don't cut my own mother-in-law's house because she has it done weekly for $50 a month.....that is $12.50 per cut. Yes, it is a very small yard but still.

A friend of mine also saved me a doorhanger in his neighborhood from a company that came by with an estimate attached to it -- $59 a month and that is assumed to be weekly. This yard is NOT small.

I know alot of people on this site say, "Don't worry...those lowballers will be gone in no time...but sh*t....seems like new ones will be popping up all the time. I am new to this....but I'm simply not loading my trailer up for $12.50.

Take out gas for my truck, mower, trimmer, edger, and then wear and tear on the equipment...and what is that....about $8-10 per mow...if that?

Then subtract what you are paying three illegals.

Someone please do that math for me.
  2. Dave_005

Dave_005 LawnSite Senior Member

at that price they will probably go out of buisness soon, GAS ALONE will eat up that much. find a MIN price you need to cover your overhead and add how much profit YOU want to make, thats your MIN price, and Never go lower. theres good money to be made and alot of good customers out there. stick to YOUR price and do Good Work and let word of mouth get around and you'll get more work.
  3. Atlantic Lawn

Atlantic Lawn LawnSite Senior Member
    Male, from Outer Banks NC

Dude, it's just the beginning, we're gonna see some truly desperate tactics by some.
  4. LawnSharks

LawnSharks LawnSite Senior Member