how do I build a leaf-vac box for my dump?

Discussion in 'Turf Renovation' started by goldstarlandscaper, Oct 12, 2006.

1. goldstarlandscaper

goldstarlandscaper LawnSite Member

Hey,

I need to build a leaf box for my 3500 dump truck. I have never done this before, so i would love any suggestions or plans.

Thanks.

2. SodKing

SodKing LawnSite Bronze Member

There are no plans, what my crew does is take sheets of plywood and stand them up and screw them into the wooden bed extender. The then run 2x4's up the seams and in the corners for stability, screw the plywood into them as well. Then you frame out the top for the ceiling and leave a 4x8 opening that gets 1/2 screen to vent all the air. A common mistake is to not have a large ehough excape hole and then the whole box breaks apart... You can hinge the door to the top that way you don't have to take it off to dump...

3. CLARK LAWN

CLARK LAWN LawnSite Silver Member

thats close to what i do i frame it first then put the plywood on

4. DBL

DBL LawnSite Silver Member

get the dimensions and cut plywood screw it to 2x4's that will line up with the holes specially made for them put them up on the sides the cut two doors on the sides that will open to dump with a circle hole in the top for the vac if needed all you cant take the door off and it will double as a chipper body

5. beautifullawns

beautifullawns LawnSite Senior Member

up here a awning company makes a canopy for the truck. The roof is even made of a vented material so air can get out. If you do a wood box make sure you put a big enough vent so all the forced air can escape. My first box I made the mistake with the vents.

6. goldstarlandscaper

goldstarlandscaper LawnSite Member

Thanks for the help guys. So that vent needs to be pretty big huh. When you say 4x8, is that inches or feet? Also what thickness plywood, 1/2 or 3/4?

7. capecodlawn

capecodlawn LawnSite Member

Why the need for a vent??

8. baddboygeorge