How Do I Change My Blades?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by lawnboy858, Jul 15, 2007.

1. lawnboy858

lawnboy858 LawnSite Senior Member

i have a toro zmaster with a 52" deck. First off my blades are getting dull so i will either take my mower into the dealer and have them change the blades (at 80$ an hour), or i need to figure out a way to change them myself. Say i bought 3 new blades for my mower, how would i take the old ones off and put the new ones on? What equipment would i need and how much would it cost?

Thanks in advance

2. J&T Kiev

J&T Kiev LawnSite Senior Member
    from N.W In.

If your Z-Master has the turbo force deck each of the three blades will be positioned in a cradle , just jack the deck up and loosen the bolt on each of the three blades. You can use a impact wrench, or do like I do, use a 15/16th old fashioned wrench.

3. DiyDave

DiyDave LawnSite Bronze Member

Takes me about 2 minutes/blade to change blades on most mowers. Takes about the same to sharpen them with a professional grinder, as long as they ain't dull as your finger!

4. MuleCutter

MuleCutter LawnSite Member

drive one side of your mower up your trailer ramp, set park brake and put wheel chocks behind the back wheels just to be safe and crawl under your mower. use a vise grip to stop the blade from turning if you are using a wrench or ratchet to unscrew the bolts.

5. delphied

delphied LawnSite Silver Member

I use a block of wood wedged in to stop the blade from turning. You need to have someone show you how to do these things, such as oil and filter change. Read the manual and ask the mechanics to explain it. If they wont explain for free, then you bought at the wrong dealer.

6. lawnmaniac883

lawnmaniac883 LawnSite Silver Member