How do I do it?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by LawnBoy89, Jan 25, 2006.

1. LawnBoy89

LawnBoy89 LawnSite Senior Member

Hey guys, some of you may know me, some not, so I'll give you a little backround. I'm 16 turning 17, I cut grass last year for the first time with my 48'' Ferris beltdrive w/b. I use an F-150 my father lets me use (he has a work truck). I have 3 leaf blowers (redmax) 2 trimmers (redmax) a 60'' Lazer Z and the 48'' Ferris. I have other equiptment as well some commercial, some not, but that is what I use for cutting grass.

What I want to know is if it is possible, how can I really make money this summer? I'm willing to work, that is not an issue at all, I think I'm pretty motivated. I have some experience working for others, I only had 20 regular lawns last year so I worked full time for a big landscaping biz. I know alot of landscapers but I really don't have the time to sit down and talk with them about what I have to do this summer to really make money. I know that during the spring and fall I will probably have to hire one of my friends to help me since I have to go to school but that won't be a problem. I just see some 17-20 year olds on here with awsome rigs and I just want to know how you make enough money to afford them? Do you guys have any advice? Thanks...

2. nobagger

nobagger LawnSite Gold Member
    from Pa

17-20yr olds with awesome rigs....its probably either some one elses truck and equipment,or, mommy and daddy are loaded. Or maybe they did it the old fasion way or should I say the American way....in debt up to their eyeballs. Myself I would much rather have my 94 F150,fix it up to where its basically new and yes finance a small amount of $$$$$ for a mower. I would never make monthly payments more than a couple of days worth of mowing. If it were me I would have waited til I was out of H.S. to start my business and kept on working for another landscape company.

3. jtkplc

jtkplc LawnSite Silver Member