How do I empty the hopper in my Lesco HPS?

Discussion in 'Fertilizer Application' started by hackitdown, May 28, 2014.

1. hackitdown

hackitdown LawnSite Silver Member

Rookie question. I know it sounds like a simple problem, bit I can't figure out an easy way to get out the unused granular fert left over in the machine. I have been using a push spreader for a couple of years, I would just spin it upside down and pour the leftover back in the bag. But obviously that won't work with a riding spreader.

So what do I do if I need to switch product between customers, or at the end of the day when I want to clean up?

2. cotyledon

cotyledon LawnSite Senior Member

I use my kids sand shovel
    Posted via Mobile Device

3. pomticks

pomticks LawnSite Member
    from Maine

I tried to judge my properties with how much I needed so I didn't run into an issue with a full hopper to the end of a day or when a product switch was needed. When I did need to bail it out I used a small sand bucket.

4. americanlawn

americanlawn LawnSite Fanatic
    from midwest

It's always best to empty the hopper at the end of each day. Here's what we do:

Scoop out as much as granular fertilizer as possible & put it in an open bag.

Then use a shop vac to get the rest out. Then empty the contents of the shop vac into an open bag.

It's a pain, but I don't know of any other method. Leaving fert in any hopper can accumulate moisture overnight.

I posed this question to TURFCO back in 2008. I wanted some kind of opening near the bottom of the hopper where I could open or close it. Problem is -- it's up to Spyker to design this option.

5. jc1

jc1 LawnSite Bronze Member

Get one of the little 5 gallon bucket vacs at Home Depot
    It goes on a 5 gallon bucket. Vacuum the hopper snap a lid on the bucket and your done.

6. RigglePLC

RigglePLC LawnSite Fanatic