How Do I hire a crew??

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Dingojoe, May 6, 2008.

1. Dingojoe

Dingojoe LawnSite Member

Ok, I need some advice. I'm a solo operator right now working part time however I would like to hire at least one or two other people to work my business will I'm working at my full time gig. I have the trailer and equipment that could keep two people busy on the job sites but I don't have an extra vehicle that the two man crew would need for transportation.
    My question is what are the steps and the process that I need to take to:
    1. Hire responsible and dependable people.
    2. Pay those responsible dependable people.
    3. Do I get the jobs first or the crew first?
    4. Do they or should they provide their own transport and gas?

I know I'll have to get workmans comp for any employees that I hire so I know that up front but what other pitfalls should I be looking at?

2. All_Toro_4ME

All_Toro_4ME LawnSite Bronze Member

Employees will beat the hell out of your equipment. You can obtain them through a staffing agency, or advertise for them. Do your background checks. Number your equipment and have each employee only use the numbered piece of equipment that he has been assigned too. Have a foreman on the crew to ensure that this is taking place. I would focus on getting the accts first. This time of year, there seems to be a lot of tire kickers for lawn service, so it may take a while to build up enough accounts to justify having a crew.

3. Dingojoe

Dingojoe LawnSite Member

Great thanks! Right now I have about all I can handle as far as accounts go..maybe I'll hire one guy to help me while I'm on the job site working it part time. That should mitigate some cost of hiring a foreman at least for now.

4. DavidR

DavidR LawnSite Member