1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

How do I install a lawn?

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by westernmdlawn, Nov 25, 2003.

1. westernmdlawn

westernmdlawn LawnSite Member

Guys - I know, this question sounds rediculous. Thats because I am new at this and am trying to learn as much as possible. Here is my question: From start to finish, step by step, how do you do a new yard installation. I'm talking about for a home builder. Will the construction company expect me to do all the grading and earthwork, then finish grade, seed and stuff? In other words, do I need to sub out a Dozer to get the yard roughly where it needs to be, then do the yard install? Help! Thanks in advance for stopping to help a newcomer - love this site!
  2. newleaflandscape

newleaflandscape LawnSite Senior Member

Generally, a landscape contractor only does the finished grade. Usually the general contractor is in charge of doing the major grading and earthwork. Although I have had some calls from builders to do the major stuff too. Not many though. For the most part they hire excavators to do the major stuff. But hey if you can make a buck at it, why not right. So step to step what we do is. Lay finish grade. Fertilize and seed with brillion seeder. About half the time we finish grade and hydroseed. Fertilizer is mixed right in with the hydroseed. Not to complicated. Good luck.
  3. westernmdlawn