How do i stripe lawns like the big pros?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by TMGL&L, Aug 11, 2007.

1. TMGL&L

TMGL&L LawnSite Member

I'm new to the industry and I was wondering how I can stripe my lawns as well as my competition. All I mow with is two walk behind Honda HRX's and a John Deere walk behind when I have to.

I assume I need to buy some kind of attachable roller for my mowers...Does anyone out there know what I need to get to make those perfect stripes???

please reply soon I need help!
  2. SangerLawn

SangerLawn LawnSite Senior Member
    from indiana

this is my first year mowing as a mowing company on my own. i started out with a scag walk behind then went cheap and bought a 50inch troy built. i got to searching for striping kits then found a very cheep solution to these very expensive kits...

at first i thought the guy was a idiot lol but then i tried it. take some pvc piping and bolt it to your mower behind your wheel and away form your deck, attach a heavy floor matt to it so it drags about 3 inches on the grass. make sure it is cut out so it doesnt go under your tires in reverse.

make sure to mow in the same tracs. light color is going away and dark color is coming to you. even if you use the cross pattern. just switch out the direction so every other week you are mowing in the same way. after about 3 weeks you will have some dark stripes!!!

truxt me.... the floor mats work and i only spent about 30 dollars on my striping kits.
  3. topsites

topsites LawnSite Fanatic

It's more the technique than the kit, most mowers stripe on their own, the kit does help but it's the technique you'll want to check into and explore... Without technique, no stripes, kit or not.
  4. ed2hess

ed2hess LawnSite Fanatic

By the way I don't see TruGreen or Brinkman dragging stuff behind their mowers to stripe:hammerhead:
  5. lifetree

lifetree LawnSite Fanatic

Sage advice from the wizard ... I agree !!
  6. westwind