1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

How do most of you guys price out your treatments

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by GreenHor7, Oct 23, 2006.

1. GreenHor7

GreenHor7 LawnSite Member

Since i am new to all of this and that it is a subject that is not etched in stone anywhere i was wondering how everyone calculates their pricing. I know that most people base it upon 1000 square, but what is the going rate for a fertilizer application. I figured about 3.5 to 4.5 for fertilizer per a thousand is pretty competitive right. I was wondering about the other treatments.
  2. I figure out my cost/m of all treatments, multiply by 1.25, add 5 to 7 dollars /m, and that is what I charge/m, PLUS a very sizeable stop fee. My real income is from the stop fee, since my knowledge and overhead is the same per client. The $5 to 7/m is for the time to apply the product for the season
  3. Ric

Ric LawnSite Fanatic

You need more than a stop fee and material cost if you are going to do it right.

In the 5 years I have been reading and posting to LS, HOW DO I PRICE is one of the most asked questions.

There is only one Correct Answer No matter if it is Mowing, Landscaping or Pest, COST PLUS.

Cost Plus sounds simpler than it is. Cost of Materials, Equipment pro-rated to that job, Overhead, Travel Time and LABOR must be factored in. Only when one determines their cost can they be a viable contractor. Even if you charge more than the going rate in your area, You can lose money if your costs are not in line.