How do people view you?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by gandk06, Nov 7, 2007.

1. gandk06

gandk06 LawnSite Senior Member

I have really been noticing this lately. As I am out working people will not even make eye contact with me. I am not talking about my customers but rather people that drive or walk by. I am always nice and wave or stop and turn off the blades when someone walks by as not to hit them with clippings. I am starting to get the feeling that people view me as someone that is dumb and can just cut grass.
    I actually only do this part time. I have a masters degree so I am educated I just enjoy being outside and being my own boss for part of the day. The way people look at me at my other job and they way they look at me while cutting are two totally different ways. I am not a scary looking person (at least I don't think so).:confused:
    This is just really starting to bother me more and more. Is it really that hard to say hi or wave when someone says it to you?

Do other people see this too, or is it just me? Maybe I shouldn't't care as much but is drives my nuts to see people like this.

Grant

2. MOturkey

MOturkey LawnSite Silver Member

I guess image doesn't bother me much. I'm not educated, but I'm not stupid. I've always had a blue collar job, and am pretty used to being thought of as a peon.

That said, maybe you should move to MO. Around here, EVERYBODY waves at everybody else. Half the time you don't have a clue who it is, you just do it. :)

3. Team-Green L&L

Team-Green L&L LawnSite Bronze Member

Please don't take this as an attack, but you're analyzing your audience too hard. I'm sure they are not looking at you like you assume they are. Most people would assume that you are AT WORK and it's human instinct to ignore someone that is working as to not disturb them. Even if you are acknowledging them, the instinct may be overpowering the moment.