How do the inexperienced make accurate estimates?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by billc, Mar 7, 2004.

1. billc

billc LawnSite Member

I'm just starting out, and need to know how to make accurate estimates, so I'm asking you vets to reach back into your memories and let me know how you started.

A landscaper I respect tells the homeowner he'll cut the property once for a certain rate/price. Then he'll give an estimate for the customer to consider.

Other landscapers say they give free estimates.

I'm leaning toward the first because it seems otherwise my estimates will be a shot in the dark until I gain experience.

Any ideas?
  2. Shuter

Shuter LawnSite Bronze Member

One of the best ways to learn, is from mistakes made. Don't sweat it too much if you make mistakes as you go, everyone does. If you are just starting out, it is wise to find out what prices your market area will bear. You don't always want to be the most expensive or the least expensive.

Example is: if a your market area is $30.00 per cut for mowing, there is no reason to bid $25.00 to get the job, when the customer would be ready to pay $30.00. Don't lose money by under cutting yourself.
  3. alpine692003

alpine692003 LawnSite Bronze Member

be like me and learn everything on the job training.

I bid everything
  4. CNE

CNE LawnSite Member