How do they do it?

Discussion in 'Landscape Maintenance' started by StBalor, Apr 14, 2011.

1. StBalor

StBalor LawnSite Senior Member

Lost yet another bid today. It was a mulching job, 11,200 sq. ft. by my calculations thats 104 yrds of mulch. customer wanted a full 3" of mulch spread over the entire area. lots of weeding and lots of edging. turned in a low, low price of 5200.00 that included weeding edging and mulch.

I was under bid. the lady i have been working for , for 4 years told me she went with another company that gave her a bid of 1800.00
    I could not even get the mulch for that price. How can someone do this job so cheap?

I am about to give up on pricing mulch jobs. Last year i was getting 100.00 yrd. but that included trimming shrubs and edging. this year i can't get 50.00 yrd. so how can they do it for 18.00 a yrd, pull weeds and edge? Sounds like this other company just has alot of free time on their hands and doing jobs for cost of Materials.

2. Premier landscaping south

Premier landscaping south LawnSite Senior Member

Landfill mulch?

3. johnnybow

johnnybow LawnSite Member

That sucks, i dont know how they can do that for that price. Probably has illegals working for them.

4. denis35

denis35 LawnSite Member

That's insane, I just laid 12 yards of CUSTOMER SUPPLIED MULCH today for $420. Edging was billed seperatly at 1 dollar per linear foot, for a total of 640
    Posted via Mobile Device

5. StBalor

StBalor LawnSite Senior Member

I was thinking the same thing. but they do not load you here, you have to shovel it in your vehicle. Thats alot of shoveling for crappy mulch.

6. THEGOLDPRO

THEGOLDPRO LawnSite Fanatic

i just did a 20 yard mulch job and charged $1800 for labor and mulch. lol i cant imagine doing 100+ yards for the same price.

7. White Gardens

White Gardens LawnSite Fanatic

Even at wholesale, reasonably good hardwood mulch would cost more than the bid itself.