how do you all get the new customers

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by jeff_0, Feb 24, 2003.

1. jeff_0

jeff_0 LawnSite Senior Member
    from md

I'm new to the business. (well doing it for myself) and i wanted to know where most people get there new customers from. I advertised in the yellow pages last year and got a good amount of calls. I wanted to know where other people have gotten there calls from.

2. Awilkinson

Awilkinson LawnSite Member
    from Indiana

Jeff-
    For me, the best source was a local real estate agency. I sent a fliers to them about offering service for vacant properties that they had listed. This led to an extreme about of work! The only down sided is that you might only have the property for a couple of weeks until it sells. But then, if the job is good, I have had several new owners continue service once they are moved in.
    Another approach is to put your current customers to work for you.
    For instance: I sent each of my customers 10 coupons a piece. The coupon is good for 20 % off two services if scheduled for all season. Once a customer has handed out (or gotten me ten new customers) I give them (the old customer) 50% off their service for the entire season. This has tripled the size of my business. Just some food for thought!:angel:

3. coonman

coonman LawnSite Senior Member

Door hangers have always worked great for us. It is cheap and you can target the areas you want to work.

4. 65hoss

65hoss LawnSite Fanatic

Networking!

5. precisionlawn

precisionlawn LawnSite Senior Member