How do you calculate equipment costs

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Pingui, Dec 28, 2013.

1. Pingui

Pingui LawnSite Member

Hey guys, I'm new at this, so please, be gentle. I run a small landscape maintenance company, I do mowing, trimming, fertilizing and things like that. No hardscape of any king and minimal planting. The equipment in my small arsenal is basically a truck, a trailer, a zero turn mower, walk behind mower and small equipment such as trimmers and blowers. When I estimate a job, I estimate the number of hours that it'll take, and the materials I will need (fertilizers, pesticide, etc). Add my markup and voila, the customer has a price. I never include any cost for equipment use... Because I don't know how to do that!!! How do I know what it costs me to run my mower, or use the trailer per hour? I know how much gas I use, but that's about it. My equipment is in very good condition, so maintenance costs are minimal. Any advice?

2. Lighthouse Lawncare

Lighthouse Lawncare LawnSite Member

I was given a spreadsheet with a great breakdown. I do not remember from whom I received it. I can not attach a spreadsheet here so if you want I can email it to you.

3. Tropical Gardens

Tropical Gardens LawnSite Member

Lighthouse..If you wouldn't mind sending me an attachment of your spreadsheet as well, I would appreciate it. I have relatively good estimating systems in place, yet would like to see if I am calculating properly. Thanks
    tropicalgardenslandscape@yahoo.com

4. inzane

inzane LawnSite Silver Member

5. inzane

inzane LawnSite Silver Member

dang, think that was the wrong one. there was one i got a while back from a thread.. it was really good. can't find it.

6. grass-scapes

grass-scapes LawnSite Bronze Member

You are probably going to be around 12 an hour operating costs for a zero turn, 3 an hour for trimmers and other handhelds.

7. Pingui

Pingui LawnSite Member