1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

How do you compete with this??!!

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by miketull8, Feb 3, 2008.

1. miketull8

miketull8 LawnSite Member

Okay, so I am fairly new at this. I have been doing just 8 yards for the last few years. I have a full time job and have been using a Lawn Boy Commercial 21" after work...puts a little extra cash in my pocket, and I love doing it. Now, I was told to not even drop the gate for less than 35 bucks for the average yard...now that I am buying a Quick 36 this week...this "minimum charge" has even more meaning. I want to have 15 solid customers by spring....now the question.........is 35 bucks really the minimum? :confused: This site scared the !$@? out of me....check it out and let me know what we need to do to keep the prices where they are supposed to be!! What IS the going rate? Be ready for this >>>> :dizzy:

http://big-js.com/landscaping.htm :hammerhead:

you may have to copy and paste....
  2. IMAGE

IMAGE LawnSite Bronze Member
    from midwest

keep that guy in your area, I dont want him here.
  3. miketull8

I am not trying to beat him up or anything...not trying to badmouth him at all....I really, am just shocked!! This is what makes it really hard on the rest of us that want to give the customer a great looking yard, and make a few bucks doing it. Bucks, not spare change...so what is the actual minimum rate? I know that everyone has a different number in mind, but if you respond, it helps us all by knowing, we cannot let guys like this ruin our market...
  4. MowHouston

MowHouston LawnSite Bronze Member

Technically, my basic service starts at $25. But not very many customers get classified as "small" yards. Its a marketing ploy.