how do you get business this late in the year?(Nash, TN)

Discussion in 'Network: South' started by joelpcox, Jun 6, 2003.

1. joelpcox

joelpcox LawnSite Member
    from TN

Hello all,
    Good forum. I am a web designer and have seen plenty of shabby ones (by shabby, I mean poorly moderated or distasteful).

I am try to start my own LCO. I have worked on and off for another LCO, so I have a little work experience. I have good equipment for getting started. I wish to go full time when possible (wife also). Enough junk, here's some of my questions:

1. Is it too late in the year to get started?
    2. What methods do you use to get customers (how to approach)?
    3. I have read a lot here already, but does anyone have any tips for getting started in our area? I am in Smyrna, but not afraid to drive a few minutes for business ($$).
    4. What is the key to finding contracts (that pay year round), as opposed to per cut? I don't want to go broke in the winter.

Thanks for your advice!

2. imograss

imograss LawnSite Senior Member

most people that dont service their own lawn have already found someone to do so by now, however i get several people that either have mower problems or just dont want to do it in the summer. almost always they have me continue to do it from then on. i dont advertise for new customers i simply get new ones by refferals of current customers that are happy with my services and dont mind sending my services to friends and neighbors. if you get your foot in the door in a nice subd. and do a nice dependable job you shoul have no problem. hope this helps.
    tim

3. jkelton

jkelton LawnSite Member