How do you get started?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by bkwilliams, Jan 26, 2003.

1. bkwilliams

bkwilliams LawnSite Member

Hey there,
    I am a turfgrass student who will be graduating with a 4 year degree in 1 year. I am just curious on how to get a small business started if I wanted to after school. Any tips?????

2. troblandscape

troblandscape Guest

I strarted when I was 10 yrs. old with a lawn mower I picked off the trash. I got lawns by knocking on doors, but I would'nt recommend that unless your under fourteen.
    I would buy some used equip. Spend some time handing out flyers. You should see some results. Stay small for a bit learn the buss.,and the expand

3. thartz

thartz LawnSite Senior Member

I got lucky if you can call it that.I did an apprentice deal with a LCO who was very knowledgeable in the field.He gave me an excellent education as far as field work ( I had to learn the back end business through trial and error ). Anyway he asked me a 100 questions a day while we were in the field and heaven forbid if I answered wrong.( can your professor jack slap you? I think not) really he was a great guy.Just watch this sight you'll learn a lot and good luck! I wish I would have had a tool like the web.You can get involved with the Small Business Assoc. for starters.

4. PaulJ

PaulJ LawnSite Bronze Member

I agree with thartz

Get a job (internship or just a summer job) with a reputable established LCO. There is no substitute for actual experience.
    Learn some of the time saving and quality improving tips while working for someone else who knows.

Also start reading Lawnsite. Go through the archives, and do searches. If you have a question about something ask it.
    There have been a few OLD threads brought back up lately, and I think it helps break some of the monotony of winter, so ask away.

Another place to get experience and info is your schools grounds department. That's where I got my start. Worked there while going to school.