1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

How do you give a senior's discount without losing money?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by billc, Mar 24, 2004.

1. billc

billc LawnSite Member

I'm just starting out, and a pastor at our church asked if we'd be willing to give a senior's discount. I've heard others on Lawnsite say they give such a discount but I wonder how to do so and avoid losing money or shady practice:

Losing money - I figure I need to make about $33/hour to cover expenses, income, etc. I'll charge $35 to build in a little fudge factor. If I calculate I should charge Grandpa $35 before the discount, then take 10% off, I'm making $31.50 - under what I need. (I recognize if I do this work faster than estimated, I can actually make the $35 or more.)

Shady practice - This means artificially raising the price before discounting it and ending up at my normal rate.

How do you offer a senior discount? A percentage off? A couple free cuts during the season?

2. mtdman

mtdman LawnSite Gold Member

I don't give one. I get plenty of work without one. BUT, if you are really into it, it's not a bad way of getting new customers. Older people if they like you will give you good word of mouth to their friends. I am assuming part of that $33 is profit to you? If so, your profit now will take the hit. Taking a hit on your profit now might lead to higher volume later on. And you can always raise rates later on once you've got the volume you want, to get to that $33 rate.
  3. Trevors Lawn Care

Trevors Lawn Care LawnSite Bronze Member

cant say i have ever had anyone ask about one, and wouldnt give one if they did. I would explain that my prices all reflect a senior discount to stay competitive enough to get jobs compared to some other guys.
  4. qualitylandscaping