1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

How do you veterans do it?

Discussion in '<a href=http://www.plowsite.com target=_blank ?>Sn' started by jason2, Dec 11, 2000.

1. jason2

jason2 LawnSite Member

This is my first year plowing. I sub for a contractor 40 miles away. I live in a rural area that's in a snowbelt. While 40 miles away where I sub get's a lot less snow.

This afternoon we got about an inch where I live, so I assumed that 40 miles away they probably just got flurries. Should have checked I guess.

Stayed up late. Sure enough an hour after I go to bed, the phone rings. Contractor wants me to come down and plow. Fire up the truck, take the hour drive south. Plow for a few hours. Drive an hour back home. Really want to go to sleep. But have to get back in the truck and go to my day job in another hour.

I'm exhausted. :) Don't know how you vet's do it. But so far I do love it.
  2. matthew Urban

matthew Urban LawnSite Member

Didn't they tell you sleep is over-rated....
    you will get used to it though.
    happy holidays
  3. finnegan

finnegan LawnSite Member

COFFEE+COFFEE=stay awake to plow....

OBRYANMAINT LawnSite Senior Member

plenty of time to sleep after you retire!
  5. John DiMartino

John DiMartino LawnSite Silver Member

After 30-40 hrs in the truck during blizzards,I start getting out every hr or so,just to stay awake and keep from getting zoned out.By 50 hrs I am very tired.Get used to it,its part of the job ,you gotta work when mother nature says.
  6. GeoffDiamond

GeoffDiamond LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Maine

Its all part of the job.

Up to this year we used to run non stop from start till finish.