1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

How do ZTR's do on steep hills?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by lee b, Jan 17, 2001.

1. lee b

lee b LawnSite Fanatic

I'm thinking about swapping two JD tractor mowers in on a Lazer. The only problem might be one large commercial property. This property has some pretty serious slopes, steep enough that even laying over on the fender sometimes they slide or try to roll. I have no experience with ztr's , but they look less stable than a tractor with 4 controllable wheels. I can mow these slopes now without using a walkbehind, and really don't want to have to use one. If I swap will I be able to mow my slopes with the Lazer? Thanks.
  2. Runner

Runner LawnSite Fanatic

MUCH better than you can with a tractor! Make sure you get a full sized Lazer, and you can't go wrong for hillsides.
  3. LJ lawn

LJ lawn LawnSite Senior Member
    from NJ

you can mow it vertically straight up and down,but if it's that steep you'll just slide right off.
  4. kutnkru

kutnkru LawnSite Silver Member

I've heard guys talk about mowing steeper slopes than 45 degrees without slipping or loosing time.

Just what I've heard.
  5. Eric ELM

Eric ELM Husband, Father, Friend, Angel

Demo it, that's the best way for you to find out if it will handle it. I can take my Choppers on any hill I could with the John Deere 430 with a 60" deck. I had the wheels reversed on the JD too, for a wider wheel base. The wider the wheel base, the better you are off on them hills. Get a 60", not a narrow one to stay on hills.
  6. lee b

lee b LawnSite Fanatic