How does he do this?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by swingset, Aug 10, 2007.

1. swingset

swingset LawnSite Member

I keep driving by a big commercial property, and it's got some lush grass so the stripes really stand out. The property is completely dotted with trees, and randomly spaced so there's no straight line that will avoid one.

Who ever is cutting this place is using what looks like a 36" deck (I've never seen them out, btw). What's stumping me is that the stripes go completely "through" the trees, there's no turns around them, no evidence that the mower is doing anything but going straight.

I'm impressed, to say the least. This is a big place, big enough for a 52" ZTR, so if the guy is backing out of his lines instead of whipping around the trees, (which is nearly impossible because backing he'd run into another tree before hitting a turn spot), this property would take you a full day to mow.

How the heck is he doing this? I'm relatively new at the commercial game, and I can't figure it out....is he using some anti-matter WB that passes through trees?

:confused: :hammerhead: :dizzy:

2. fiveoboy01

fiveoboy01 LawnSite Silver Member

Not difficult at all.

You have to go around the tree when you get up to it, then when you make your next pass back the other way, you run back over the spot striping the grass the other way.

It makes it look like the stripe has run right into the tree and out the other side.

3. swingset

swingset LawnSite Member

I'm familiar with doing that, but even when you re-run back over it, you can see the turn, or at least the wheel tracks...sometimes (depending on the mower) it's faint, but it's always there if you look close. I'm only 10' away from some of the trees when I drive by, and I've checked them out from above sitting at a stop light and I can't see ANY evidence the mower is circling the trees.