How early are you cutting and how late for that matter.

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by carl28, Jul 18, 2001.

1. carl28

carl28 LawnSite Member

What time are you able to start cuttting in you neck of the woods. we can't get much accomplished before 9:00 am because of the dew. Try to finish are days before 7:00 pm what about you and why.

2. dhicks

dhicks Member

Your schedule is similar to mine. However, I try not to mow after 6 PM. The dew is starting to form and I hate to bother the customers after just coming home.

3. Randy Scott

Randy Scott LawnSite Bronze Member

Maybe a stupid question, but why does the dew hold you up? We all talk about how good the mowers still cut when it rains, and we mow then. I am a rookie so I might be missing something but what is it? I can understand slopes and so forth may get a little slick but what else?

4. 1MajorTom

1MajorTom Senior Moderator

We leave the house at 8:45 and finish by 5:00. One or two days Matt might work till 8:00 pm depending on if we get backed up due to rain.

The dew doesn't bother us, but we don't start earlier because it isn't fair to get the kids up any earlier than necessary to go to grandmas house.

5. carl28

carl28 LawnSite Member