How Has Industry Changed?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by MikeInFlorida, Feb 18, 2003.

1. MikeInFlorida

MikeInFlorida LawnSite Member
    from Florida

This is my first time back to in a few years. Quite a few changes. I sold my lawn care business a few years ago to pursue another endeavor and I now considering re-entering the industry. Here is my question: How much has the industry changed due to the recession? I would assume much more competetion due to higher unemployment and ease at which anyone (thinks) he/she can start a lawn care business. Has this been the case? Is there higher turnover in your accounts this year? What about late-pays and collections? Have you had to be more competetive in you pricing? Any good come from the recession (ie, labor)? I would appreciate any responses and thank you in advance for you time.

Mike Reynolds
  2. crazygator

crazygator LawnSite Bronze Member

First, welcome back to lawnsite.

Second, I think the recession has helped in many ways. The best is more and more people have to work more hours and even 2 or more jobs. This gives them less time for downtime, which they do not want to be spending in the yard.

Competition is higher, but then again if you are reliable and do quality work you should have no problems. I am finding out that around here there are too many that do bad work and dont seem to have good work ethics, so its easy to shine if you just try a little, much less work hard!
  3. J&R

J&R LawnSite Senior Member

I know in my part of this world 20 years in this. was a time you would not see more that one other LCO in a day . Now the avg. is 10-20 per day.
  4. Heavenly Green

Heavenly Green LawnSite Member