1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

How I squeeze my 60" DC through a 36" Gate

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Eric ELM, Feb 14, 2001.

1. Eric ELM

Eric ELM Husband, Father, Friend, Angel

I can answer a whole bunch of threads on this one post. Yes I do mow my neighbors lawn,(for the do you mow your neighbors lawn thread) but it only has a 36" gate into the back yard and the back yard is pretty good sized. (To answer big mower, little gate) It was way to big to mow with the 21" and the next smallest deck is 60". It is a 6 foot high wooden fence around the whole thing, so since I was a carpenter, I went over to the other side of the house and there is an eight foot section of the wood fence that I made into a gate. I put an angle brace on it to keep it square and from droping down so it would drag. I put hinges and a latch that the owner furnished and it doesn't even look like a gate and I can use the Choppers to mow it with my double blades (answering the double blade thread) that I sharpen with my RBG grinder (answering how I sharpen blades) and I do put stripes in it with my striping kit. (to answer striping ?'s thread)

The moral of this story is, even if there is a fence, you can make a bigger gate if the owner will allow it and it only took me about 1/2 hour to do this and it has saved me many hours of mowing time. I have widened other places too in the past and the owners have always furnished the material. Hope this helps at least one person.

[Edited by Eric ELM on 02-14-2001 at 10:18 PM]
  2. Fantasy Lawns

Fantasy Lawns LawnSite Bronze Member

just goes to show .....where there's a will there is a way ;-)

BUSHMASTER LawnSite Senior Member

How bout a foldable ramp made out of allum.. that could go over most fences.......
  4. little green guy