1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

How is anyone making money on renovations?

Discussion in 'Turf Renovation' started by RyanD, Oct 4, 2006.

1. RyanD

RyanD LawnSite Member

I have been providing maintenance for a while but had a customer ask about a renovation. I worked up a bid and based on what I have read on this forum I am way too high. I don't have a quote but I read in a thread of someone charging $10 per 1000 to renovate. That's what my costs are:dizzy:

14k = $140

seed $100
    fert $25
    gas, not to mention wear and tear, replacement costs, etc. $15

profit $0:dizzy:

I was going to bid $360. This would have included going over the yard with the verticutter, go over with Walker to vacuum debris, aerate (some clay is soil), seed, and fertilize. So... am I missing something? I am new to this but want to make sure I do a great job for the guy. Do you guys have a set fee per 1000?
  2. Runner

Runner LawnSite Fanatic

Very simply. It can't be done for $10 per M. Watch who you take advice from on here. Also, some peoples' idea of "renovation" is different from proper procedure of renovation. Also, for all that you are doing, is rather extreme. If you ARE going to to the slitseeding AND the aeration (nothing wrong with that), do it in the opposite order...your aeration first, then your slitseeding.
    Anyway, $70 per M is our rate. $75 per M if we are spraying it off first (almost inclusive if it is necessary).
  3. RyanD

RyanD LawnSite Member

Runner, first of all you have been one of the most helpful member's to me. Thanks.