How long did it take you?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by We do 4 U, Aug 23, 2002.

1. We do 4 U

We do 4 U LawnSite Member

How long did it take you, when you first started, to get your business set up the way you wanted it? I mean things like working for the type of customers you wanted to work for and getting accounts in the higher end neighborhoods you wanted to work in. I ask because I am in my third year and I am still spread out as far as my drive time and still doing some of the "lower end accounts". Things are SLOWLY getting better though.

2. Richard Martin

Richard Martin LawnSite Fanatic

It sounds like you are on the same schedule as I am. As long as you are satisfied with your progress don't worry about it. You probably have a very strong (not big) and loyal customer base with little turnover. I'm currently in my 8th year. I have 40 current customers and I'm on customer number 207. The numbers started at 101. I've worked my base from a 20 mile radius down to about a 5 mile radius.

3. AL Inc

AL Inc LawnSite Bronze Member

I started my business in 1995, and I'm still trying to perfect it. It has gotten much easier for me, and I do less physical work than ever before. I'm now trying to work on the business to perfect estimating and billing systems, and also faster collections. It is a slow process, but you really have to envision where you want your business to go, and then figure out a way to do it. Good luck to you. Mike

4. awm

awm LawnSite Gold Member

let u know ,if i ever get there .:)

5. AGG Lawn Maintenance

AGG Lawn Maintenance LawnSite Senior Member
    from Elberon

Amen to collecting money!!! I have one town, yes one town, that I skip right by. Years ago I did about 60 lawns in that town. What a pain in the $%#. I needed to keep a violin in my truck for all the sob stories I heard. Those people had plenty of money. Million $ homes, $50,000 cars etc. You can't pay $3,000???