1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

How long does it take to see results

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Amani, Aug 17, 2006.

1. Amani

Amani LawnSite Member

Hi guys I just wanted to find out how long it took to get results after passing flyers. I have passed ot about 1500 flyers for the last two days and gotten 3 phone calls two of which I got the account. I am new at this kind of business but I have run my own web design business for the last 4 years and it still continues to grow. I am just looking for a new business venture that will give me more time outdoors.
  2. ChadsLawn

ChadsLawn LawnSite Bronze Member

Dont expect a ton of calls from the flyers. you'll get either 1 or 2% call rate per 1000. I passed out 1500 flyers in mid to late June and all I received was 10 calls. I got 8 out of the 10. Just keep hitting neighborhoods. Im getting another 1000 made next week. Word of mouth is best though.
  3. Amani

Amani LawnSite Member

Thanks for the pointers. What is the other sure way of getting business in other that word of mouth which I am already doing?
  4. fiveoboy01

fiveoboy01 LawnSite Silver Member

I think by word of mouth, Chadslawn means referrals. IE a customer likes your work, and tells another person about you.

You can try ads in small local newspapers.

Craigslist has gotten me a few calls and landed me a couple accounts.

We put an ad in a local yellow pages type phone book which only is circulated in our town(population about 10K). That costed me 300 for the year.

And keep passing out flyers. Then do it again in march.

You need to put your business' name in front of someone numerous times, or they will forget you exist.
  5. Brendan Smith

Brendan Smith LawnSite Bronze Member