How long will it take to aereate yard?

Discussion in 'Homeowner Assistance Forum' started by Bob E, Sep 20, 2005.

1. Bob E

Bob E LawnSite Member

I'm hoping to aereate and overseed this weekend. Yard is approx 30,000 ft2.

I was hoping to rent the aerator after work on Friday. How long should it take me (since I've never used it before). I'd have about 3 hours of daylight after I got home, is that enough time?

I'm supposed be picking up 60 bags of compost Saturday AM to spread over the entire yard.

Another question, should I spread the seed then the compost or vise versa?

2. Threxx

Threxx LawnSite Member

I'd like to know this too. And also where the heck I can rent one of these things??:D

I've been calling equipment rental places all over Memphis by searching the yellow pages but to no avail. A couple of places had aerators, but I also want a top-dresser and overseeder. No dice so far.

In my post below I was trying to hire somebody on this board from the Memphis area to do it but haven't seen any interest so far so I guess I might as well start figuring out how to do it myself.

3. Critical Care

Critical Care LawnSite Bronze Member

How long it takes to do this job depends upon a few factors. If this property is flat and without many obstacles you shouldn't have trouble. Most of the aerators can be idled down for a nice slow walk, but if you're in a hurry, you can speed them up to a nice gallop. But, if your property is laid out in an irregular shape, with islands of trees or plants, hills or furrows, surface tree roots, and so on, your time can easily double - just like it can when mowing. For whatever its worth, aeration generally goes faster than dethatching.