1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

How lucrative can the irrigation business be?

Discussion in 'Irrigation' started by foss, Apr 20, 2008.

1. foss

foss LawnSite Member

I am currently enrolled in school for landscape technology and I am strongly considering taking as many irrigation classes as possible so I can start my own irrigation business when I graduate. I've been working as an irrigation tech on golf courses for the past two years and, as sick as it is to say, i really enjoy working on irrigation but before I make a full commitment to it I am curious to know what kind of money can be made doing irrigation work as a contractor, i.e. installations, backflow testing, and design. Thanks in advance and let me just say that I've learned almost as much just from reading everyones posts in the forums as I have in the class room. You guys are awesome, keep it up:usflag:
  2. Dean of Green

Dean of Green LawnSite Senior Member

I must preface this by first saying that I don't do irrigation. I have often thought of getting into it(but never the time to take the proper classes. This is what I have notice through my years of landscape management, plants need different amounts of water than turf areas. Therefore, have zones that cover bedding areas and different zones that cover the turf areas. This approach would yield more zones(larger profit per install) and for the customer, the ability to better manage their water use and supply the right amount of water to the landscape. You can make a very good living doing irrigation only or a very good enhancement service to a landscaping company. Good luck with it and keep us posted on your progress.
  3. Mike Leary

Mike Leary LawnSite Fanatic

Lotsa money & fun out there. Find your niche market, get to know the LA's, plumbers,