How many here work by themselves?

Discussion in 'General Industry Discussions' started by Rons Rightway Lawncare, Sep 13, 2006.

1. Rons Rightway Lawncare

Rons Rightway Lawncare LawnSite Bronze Member

I have been cutting for over 12 years now, started out by myself like so many others..... After the first year I had over 80 weekly customers and ended up having someone work for me - a friend - and then even hired two friends at the same time. Had a "employee" for the most part of the first 3-4 years.

I got tired of them not showing up, showing up drunk or hungover, doing a crappy job, complaining they weren't making as much money as me, quitting on me at the worse times, and having too much work to handle on my own while I looked for another helper.

So back in 1999 I went to solo operations. Haven't had a helper since - well I did hire a neighbors kid to help out one summer, and have had a helper once in a blue moon for a day or two to help me catch up if I am really behind due to weather.

For the last 4 years or so I have around 55-60 lawns I cut each week, and another 5 or so I cut every other week. Most of these lawns are " Average " sized lawns for the Charlotte Area, and one thing that helps me get this many done in a week is alot of them are close together, for instance I do 5 lawns all side by side at one stop . I think I average around 275 miles per week on the truck to do my route, and I normally work from around 9am to 8pm only stopping for a bite to eat for lunch - usually drivethru at a fast food place.

Curious how many others are solo operators, and how many lawns you guys do and any tricks to making life as a solo operator easier?

It is raining here today, I still got 40 lawns to do by the end of the week. That means 20 a day for Thursday and Friday.... Most of the guys I know that do lawn care think I am full of it when I tell them I can do 20 in a day by myself....

2. thesargent

thesargent LawnSite Senior Member