1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

How many Hrs before changing to Mobil 1 ?????

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Dry Dock, Jul 28, 2000.

1. Dry Dock

Dry Dock Guest

Any one know how many brake in hrs you should have on a new engine before changing over to Mobil 1 or any synthetic oil???? (Thanks for your answers in advance)
  2. bdemir

bdemir LawnSite Senior Member

I have started right away but this is not too good and doesent give enough time to break it in. My suggestion and i am not an expert ould be 125 hours ar least and use the 10w30 or 15w40 weight oils for kohlers from what i hear. My 19 kawasaki started off with mobil1 on the second oil change and i could not wait but if you have a kohler maybe you can start off with like the third oil change and it should be fine. Many sports cars come with mobil1 in the engine and a case of it in the trunk like porche, corvette and exmark 911 turbo. hehehe
  3. Grasscape Inc

Grasscape Inc LawnSite Member

Run 200 hours of good standard oil.<br>Then at 200 switch to mobile1 10w-30<p>----------<br>-Grasscape Mgmt.<br>Http://sites.netscape.net/grasscapeinc/homepage
  4. Cutter1

Cutter1 LawnSite Bronze Member

I agree with grasscape. I did a lot of reading and talked to the Koher and Exmark people. Run straight 30 weight for 200hrs.l THen run 10w30 Mobil one. Mobil one is the best.
  5. Keith

Keith LawnSite Gold Member